Jesse ‘Bam’ Rodriguez shines, stops Srisaket Sor Rungvisai in Round 8


Junior bantamweight champion Jesse “Bam” Rodriguez defends his WBC title against former champ Srisaket Sor Rungvisai on Saturday in the main event of a DAZN show at the Tech Port Arena in San Antonio (8 p.m. ET). The card includes two other title fights.

Rodriguez (15-0, 10 KOs), of San Antonio, won the belt with an impressive unanimous decision victory over veteran Carlos Cuadras in February.

Sor Rungvisai (50-5-1, 43 KOs), of Thailand, defeated Roman “Chocolatito” Gonzalez (twice) and Juan Francisco Estrada in back-to-back-to-back fights in 2017-2018. He lost the title a year later in a rematch against Estrada but has won three consecutive fights since, including the past two by stoppage to set up this opportunity against Rodriguez.

In the co-main event, Murodjon Akhmadaliev defends his IBF and WBA “super” junior featherweight titles against Ronny Rios.

Akhmadaliev (10-0, 7 KOS), of Uzbekistan, won the titles with a unanimous decision victory against Daniel Roman in 2020 and has made two successful defenses.

For Rios (33-3, 16 KOs), of Compton, California, this is his second time challenging for a junior featherweight belt. In 2017, he lost a decision to Rey Vargas.

Also on the card, Jessica McCaskill defends her welterweight undisputed championship against Alma Ibarra.

McCaskill (11-2, 4 KOs), of Chicago, Illinois, defeated the legendary Cecilia Braekhus to win all four belts in 2020. She has defended the titles twice, including in a rematch against Braekhus.

Stay here for live results and analysis.

Still to come:

  • Title fight: Jesse Rodriguez Franco vs. Srisaket Sor Rungvisai, 12 rounds, for Rodriguez’s WBC junior bantamweight title

  • Title fight: Murodjon Akhmadaliev vs. Ronny Rios, 12 rounds, for Akhmadaliev’s IBF junior featherweight title and WBA “super” junior featherweight title

  • Title fight: Jessica McCaskill vs. Alma Ibarra, 10 rounds, for McCaskill’s WBC, IBF, WBA and WBO women’s welterweight titles

  • Raymond Ford vs. Richard Medina, 10 rounds, featherweights

  • Nikita Ababiy vs. Noe Larios Jr., 8 rounds, junior middleweights

  • Jesus Martinez vs. Keven Monroy, 4 rounds, bantamweights

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

“Would Have Avoided…”: Aakash Chopra On KL Rahul Replacing Shikhar Dhawan As Captain For Zimbabwe ODI Series
Simon Fraser moves games from Canada to U.S.
Raducanu routs Azarenka in Cincy second round
Ranking every Premier League transfer ever between the Big Six clubs
U.S. wins to go 4-0 in world junior group play

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.