Matsuyama to join TGL’s Boston Common Golf


Hideki Matsuyama, the 2021 Masters champion and a nine-time PGA Tour winner, is joining Boston Common Golf in TGL presented by SoFi, the tech-infused golf league that will debut in January, the team announced Tuesday.

Matsuyama, No. 12 in the OWGR, joins past major champions Rory McIlroy, Keegan Bradley and Adam Scott on the team. He replaces Tyrrell Hatton, who was previously announced as part of the roster but left the PGA Tour for the LIV Golf League on Jan. 30.

“I’m excited to join Boston Common Golf and be a part of TGL,” Matsuyama said in a statement. “Teaming up with Rory, Keegan, and Adam – three incredible players I deeply respect — fills me with excitement and anticipation. Together, I hope we can push the boundaries of golf and create an unforgettable new experience for fans around the world. Most importantly, I am looking forward to the four of us winning championships together.”

Matsuyama was ranked as high as No. 2 in the world after becoming the first man from Japan to win a major championship. He has competed in the Presidents Cup five times and will represent Japan in the Olympics for the second time in Paris this summer.

Boston Common Golf is owned by Fenway Sports Group, which controls the Boston Red Sox and Pittsburgh Penguins, among other sports properties.

“On behalf of Boston Common Golf and everyone at Fenway Sports Group, I want to express our deep appreciation to Hideki for joining this groundbreaking venture that will showcase team golf like never before,” Boston Common Golf President & CEO Mark Lev said in a statement. “Hideki’s calm demeanor and resilience will perfectly complement Rory’s dynamic skills, Adam’s experience, and Keegan’s tenacity, making us a formidable force.

“His historic Masters victory, technical precision, and unwavering work ethic have solidified his place among golf’s elite, and with him, we become a team of players representing four continents, each a Major champion. His commitment to promoting golf globally and in Japan through youth clinics is inspiring a new generation and we are fortunate to have him on our team.”

TGL’s inaugural season will tee off Jan. 7, 2025, in prime time on ESPN and ESPN+. The six-team league was scheduled to begin play Jan. 9, 2024, but the launch was delayed after a storm knocked out electricity to the temporary power system and backup system at the SoFi Center in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, causing the dome to deflate and be damaged.

Tiger Woods, Justin Thomas, Colin Morikawa, Rickie Fowler and Xander Schauffele will also compete in the league.

The league is constructing a 250,000-square-foot steel-supported structure.

Articles You May Like

What to know about USA men’s, women’s soccer
‘I’ve been so, so close two times’: Joyce using Chisora fight to get back to contention
Utah St. fires Anderson as coach, cites violations
LeBron layup helps U.S. avoid loss to South Sudan
The story of Endrick: Real Madrid’s bright new young talent, and Brazil’s new hope

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *